Rick Cogley Live - Welcome

Welcome

Thanks for Visiting! This is “Rick Cogley Live”, my blog with short and more frequent posts about my interests.

I decided to blog this way and post links to my content, instead of supplying my content to social networks. Controlling your own content is inherently better than relinquishing control.

~Rick Cogley


Japan PSA: Fall Is Giant Hornet Season

Saturday, 2 Sep, 2017

Robert on Strava says he “just takes the stings and calls it free Vespa”, which is funny, but Asian Giant Hornets (Vespa mandarinia) in Japan are no joke. Read on for why:

Ignorant Sengun Joshi

Thursday, 17 Aug, 2017

An article about sengun joshi in the Japan Times got my hackles raised. Here’s why:

Even The Mighty Bullet Train

Tuesday, 27 Jun, 2017

Even the super-reliable “shinkansen” bullet train has a glitch sometimes. Here’s what happened…

What's Up

Wednesday, 21 Jun, 2017

Been super busy. It’s full-on rainy season or “tsuyu” and the hydrangeas are out (beautiful). Here’s what’s been up…

They Break All At Once

Tuesday, 23 May, 2017

Don’t you think this about household appliances? …

It is Not About Blood

Sunday, 21 May, 2017

I had seen these national pride posters that an article reminded me of…

Crowdfund This

Saturday, 20 May, 2017

Read an article in the paper today about Tomoko Takebe, who crowdfunded her search for a husband. Here’s how it turned out …

Slow Escalators for an Aging Population

Tuesday, 16 May, 2017

The escalators at our local department store run at half speed. Here’s why…

Life is Precious

Thursday, 11 May, 2017

A recent event drove home how precious life is. This was it…

Milestones on Parade

Monday, 1 May, 2017

Feeling nostalgic and we’re really “reelin’ in the years” now. Check it out …

Praise for Discomfort

Sunday, 30 Apr, 2017

Thinking about motivation and how to motivate, I came to a conclusion, like this …

Stop Fiddling with your Tool

Friday, 28 Apr, 2017

Are you a project manager or, a manager of MS Project. That is…

How Much Time is Enough Time

Tuesday, 25 Apr, 2017

If you’re assigning tasks, how much time should you give?

Got Japanese Humor?

Monday, 24 Apr, 2017

I like comedy, because I like to laugh, and because there’s already a lot of serious stuff in life. What about in Japan?

SCV on a Roll

Thursday, 20 Apr, 2017

I was thrilled to see that my favorite corps Santa Clara Vanguard has picked up Michael Gaines as their “Creative Director”.

Let's Encrypt!

Wednesday, 19 Apr, 2017

I make an effort to encrypt where I can, and in my opinion, you should, too.

TMSIDK is a Fake News Antidote #TryPod

Tuesday, 18 Apr, 2017

The new-ish podcast “Tell Me Something I Don’t Know” (TMSIDK) from Stephen Dubner, strikes me as a kind of antidote to “fake news” so common these days.

On Gender Targeting in Umbrellas

Tuesday, 18 Apr, 2017

As I walked in the rain to take the trash out this morning, I used my wife or daughter’s umbrella, and was marvelling at how pretty the light is, when you’re inside it.

A Great Musical Intellect Lost

Monday, 17 Apr, 2017

So sad: virtuoso guitarist Allan Holdsworth unexpectedly died at 70 on 16th April 2017, and I wager he’s in heaven jamming with Coltrane, maybe having a nice brew after, with a perfect head.

Alfons Mucha and Other Beauty in Tokyo

Sunday, 16 Apr, 2017

My wife told me there’s a (Czech artist) Mucha exhibition in Tokyo. We’re fortunate to have such easy access to art.